

### Taft College Academic Senate Minutes

Friday, August 23, 2024 Cougar Room 11:10 am-1:00 pm

## Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by President Duron at 11:11am.

Attendees

Based on the sign-in sheets, the following faculty members attended: Abbott, Altenhofel, Beasley, Cahoon (M), Chung-Wee, Clark, Duron, Flachmann, Getty, Golling, Jacobi, Jimenez Murguia, Kerr, Martinez (M), Mendenhall, Mendoza, Mitchell, Nishiyama, Oja, Payne (R), Polski, Raber, Rangel Escobedo, Reynolds (J), Richards, Rodenhauser, Smith (K), Taylor, Travis, Webster.

Guests include J. Valadez, S. Horn-Bunk, E. Campos, R. Trickey, and J. Lopez.

### **Public Comment**

There were no public comments.

## **Action Items**

Approval of the Minutes

May 6, 2024 Meeting: There were not corrections on these Minutes, so they were approved by consent.

New Business

- Academic Senate Goals:
  - Report on 2023-2024 Goals C. Duron reviewed last year's goals to let the Academic Senate know the progress of them all.
    - Identify and Advance Local Policy Reform: C. Duron shared that many policies were reviewed last year, and there will be more coming this year. There will be an update next meeting on the hiring policy documents that were worked on last year.
    - Support an Active Partnership with Associated Student Organization (ASO): C. Duron met with M. Cutrona. It was suggested that all committee chairs include the ASO email in their Outlook calendar invitations for committee meetings. The ASO will try to get students to attend all Academic Senate (AS) subcommittees. At AS Council, it was suggested that we could provide letters of recommendations or certificates at the end each semester to students.
    - Work in consultation with the Faculty Association: C. Duron reminded us that this project was to collaboration to include diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) in faculty evaluations. This is on pause while the state is working through lawsuits.
    - Work in collaboration with the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee:
      C. Duron reminded us that this goal set up a taskforce with seven goals. After discussing with the DEIAA committee co-chairs, it was determined that the DEIAA committee was covering those goals.



- 2024-2025 Goals: C. Duron introduced what she sees as relevant goals for the upcoming year. C. Chung-Wee motioned to accept the following goals, which was seconded by M, Mayfield. The motion passed.
  - Review and revise the Academic Senate Constitution and Bylaws
  - Actively Support the Charters of the Academic Senate Subcommittees and encourage that channel of communication and decision making
  - Establish a curriculum tracking system
- CTE Liaison Nominations
  - C. Duron shared that this is the only Liaison position that has a dedicated representative on the AS Council.
  - M. Beasley was the representative on the AS Council last year, but has stepped down to work on committees and caucuses at the state level. C.
     Duron thanks M. Beasley for her state-wide work.
  - C. Duron shared that A. Abbott is interested in serving as the CTE Liaison representative on the AS Council and is CTE faculty. There were not objections, so A. Abbott was voted in as the CTE Liaison representative on the AS Council.

# Informational Items

- Over the Summer: C. Duron shared about some of the changes and work that occurred over the summer.
  - President Dr. Rafe Trickey was hired over the summer, and introduced Board of Trustee members who attended this AS meeting, as well as other administrators.
     President Trickey would like to focus on student success at president.
  - Interim VP of Student Services Manny Campos introduced himself and his longterm experiences with Taft College. He has been the interim for 3 weeks.
  - Interim Director of Dental Hygiene Gina Gardner was promoted out of her faculty role.
  - Dental Hygiene Temporary Full-time Faculty B. Dodson to fill in for G. Gardner.
  - C. Duron noted that Vice President Jacobi had updated faculty through in-service about these laws that affect curriculum:
    - AB 928: Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act of 2021:
    - AB 1111: Common Course Numbering
  - AB 1705: Validation of Equitable Placement, Support and Completion Practices for STEM Programs: C. Duron shared that she worked with L. Minor to turn in a report over the summer. N. Cahoon is spearheading the math activities.
  - The National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE) Conference: A.
    Abbott shared that 2 faculty attended (K. Kulzer-Reyes and himself). He'll report on it to the Board of Trustees.
  - Curriculum Institute was attended by 2 faculty. V. Jacobi has shared some of what she learned.
  - Enrollment Management Academy: V. Jacobi became co-chair of the SEMCOM (Strategic Enrollment Management Committee) after attending this academy. C. Duron also attended as our faculty representatives.
- Membership: C. Duron reminded everyone of membership in each of these:



- Senate-of-the-Whole members are all full-time faculty, and any part-time faculty who opt-in with in the first two weeks of the semester.
- Senate Council members are from each division, plus the CTE liaison, a past president, and the AS officers.
- Liaisons
  - C. Duron noted that the CTE Liaison is the only Liaison in the Bylaws.
  - Secretary Oja shared that she is passing on the OER Liaison since she has been hired as the OER Coordinator. She would like to expand the participation of faculty in OER efforts.
  - C. Duron found that the OER Liaison is appointed. Only one person with experience with OER (S. Jiminez Murguia) was interested, so she appointed him.
- Academic Senate Subcommittees: C. Duron shared the AS sub-committees and cochairs. M. Oja noted that this is the first time in a long time when all AS sub-committees were fully chaired at the beginning of the fall semester.
  - Academic Development Committee (ADC): Chair Danielle Kerr
  - Academic Policies and Procedures (AP&P) Committee: Co-Chair Mallori Rossi
  - Career and Technical Education Committee: Chair Darcy Bogle
  - Curriculum and General Education Committee: Co-Chair Vicki Jacobi
  - Distance Learning and Education Committee: Co-Chair Joy Reynolds
  - Dual Enrollment Committee: Chair Greg Golling
  - Faculty Professional Development: Chair Ruby Payne
  - Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment Steering Committee (SLOASC): Chair Adam Bledsoe
- Education Master Plan Team Meetings: C. Duron shared that these meetings will continue to happen in the fall in Governance Council.

# **Senator Comments**

- R. Payne shared that the Professional Development Committee always asks committee if they really need to meet during in-service or if their work can wait.
- C. Duron wanted to share that Dr. Samual Lee will visit with a team to discuss Credit for Prior Learning (CPL) in September. Some team members will be Zooming in, and faculty would like the opportunity to Zoom into the meeting, as well.

R. Polski motioned to adjourn, which was second by Joy Reynolds. The motion passed.

Next Academic Senate: September 9, 2024 (not the first Monday due to a holiday)