

Taft College Academic Senate Council Minutes

Tuesday, August 20, 2024 Cafeteria Conference Room 10:10 am-11:00 am

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 10:12am by President Duron.

Attendees

Role	Preferred Name	X if in Attendance
1. AS President (F2023-Sp2025)	Candace Duron	X
2. Vice President (F2022- Sp2024)	Vicki Jacobi	X
3. Secretary (F2023-Sp2025)	Michelle Oja	X
4. Past President		
5. Allied Health & Applied Technology division representative	Kanoe Bandy	X
6. Business, Arts, Y Humanities division representative	Lori Travis	X
7. English & Language Arts division representative	Chris Chung-Wee	X
8. Learning Support division representative	Darcy Bogle	
9. Math & Science division representative	Nate Cahoon	X
10. Social & Behavioral Sciences division representative	Ken Smith	X
11. Adjunct Faculty representative	Marni Cahoon	X
12. Career & Technical Education representative	Michelle Beasley	X
Guests	Amar Abbott	X

Public Comment

Action Items

Approval of the Minutes

April 17, 2024 meeting: No corrects requested, so the 4/17/24 Council meeting Minutes were approved by acclimation/consent.

New Business

- Academic Senate Goals
 - o Report on 2023-2024 Goals
 - Identify and Advance Local Policy Reform: C. Duron noted that many AP's (Administrative Policies) and BP's (Board Policies) were reviewed over the summer, and more will be upcomiing.
 - Support an Active Partnership with Associated Student Organization (ASO)





- C. Duron discussed with M. Cutrona how best to do this. Student government is not a paid positions, but C. Duron said that M. Cutrona still suggested inviting students to all committee meetings.
- L. Travis asked if the students must be student government officers, and C. Duron said that they could be any student.
- K. Bandy suggested letting the students know that participation can look good on their resumes and transfer applications. Vice President Jacobi suggested that the Academic Senate write a letter of recommendation for all students who serve on a committee. C. Duron discussed creating a template for a letter of recommendation, and creating a list of contact information and the committee charters for students.
- Work in consultation with the Faculty Association: This began last academic year on work to incorporate DEIA in faculty evaluations, but it was put on hold as state lawsuits played out.
- Work in collaboration with the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee: This work began before the DEIAA Committee was formed. After C. Druon discussed with the co-chairs, it was decided that the DEIAA Committee could take over this work from the Academic Senate taskforce.
- o 2024-2025 Goals
 - The following goals were suggested by C. Duron for the upcoming year:
 - Review and revise the Academic Senate Constitution and Bylaws:
 This is supposed to be reviewed every 2 years, but has not been reviewed for at least 8 years.
 - Actively Support the Charters of the Academic Senate Subcommittees and encourage that channel of communication and decision making (to the whole Academic Senate, and to the campus community)
 - Establish a curriculum tracking system:
 - V. Jacobi, as Curriculum and General Education
 Committee co-chair, has been in discussions with the new
 SLOASC (Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment
 Steering Committee), A. Bledsoe, about utilizing a new
 connection between Canvas and eLumen (Insight) to track
 curriculum. Instead, it might work better to purchase the
 curriculum tracking option in eLumen. V. Jacobi has a
 tentative timeline.
 - K. Bandy asked if this would speed up the process of approval. V. Jacobi said that it might speed because there is confusion over where any course or program is in the approval process, and it would be easier to see the most recent and updated version.



- C. Duron asked if there were any other suggested goals. V. Jacobi added that it's important that we follow our processes since there's so much turnover in administrators, and that C. Duron is doing a good job. K. Bandy added that these processes should be in writing.
- It was moved by Secretary Oja to move the three goals above to the Senate of the Whole, and seconded by K. Bandy. During discussion, N. Cahoon added that the Academic Senate President can let us know what we can do as a council and as faculty members. The motion passed.

Informational Items

- C. Duron briefly went over what happened over the Summer:
 - Welcome President: Dr. Rafe Trickey
 - o Welcome Interim VP of Student Services: Manny Campos
 - o Welcome Interim Director of Dental Hygiene: Gina Gardner
 - Welcome Dental Hygiene Temporary Full-time Faculty: Bekki Dodson
 - AB 928: Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act of 2021:
 - V. Jacobi shared that this refers to CalGETC and having student automatically assigned an Associate Degree for Transfer (ADT) when completing their applications to attend a California community college.
 - V. Jacobi encouraged everyone to apply for the returning Extra Duty assignment so that you can get paid if you do any of this work.
 - AB 1111: Common Course Numbering: R. Polski and D. Mitchell are the faculty who are participating.
 - AB 1705: Validation of Equitable Placement, Support and Completion Practices for STEM Programs: V. Jacobi met with Math faculty, and a position will be posted soon.
 - The National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE) Conference: Two
 faculty attended with administrators and staff. A. Abbott noted that it was a great
 conference and hopes that more faculty can attend next year.
 - Curriculum Institute: V. Jacobi and M. Oja were the faculty who attended.
 - Enrollment Management Academy: V. Jacobi and C. Duron were the faculty who attended. This is one of the president's goals. What they learned will go to the SEMCOM (Strategic Enrollment Management Commmittee).

Membership

- Senate-of-the-whole: All full-time faculty are members, plus any part-time faculty who opt-in.
- Senate Council: Members include one person assigned from each division, plus a part-time faculty member (M. Cahoon is serving the second in her 2-year term), a CTE Liaison, and a past president. G. Dyer declined to attend, so C. Duron will reach out to the next most recent past president who is still a faculty member at Taft College.
- Liaisons:





- The CTE liaison is the only Liaison in the Academic Senate by-laws. M. Beasley is stepping down. C. Duron will review the process to replace that liaison. A. Abbott has volunteered to fill that role.
- M. Oja was the liaison with the OERI (Open Education Resources Initiative), but is passing that on as she is now the OER Coordinator. S. Jimenez Murguia has worked on ZTC (Zero Textbook Cost) grants, and is interested in becoming the OER Liaison; no one else has volunteered.
- Academic Senate Subcommittees
 - Academic Development Committee (ADC): Chair Danielle Kerr
 - o Academic Policies and Procedures (AP&P) Committee: Co-Chair Mallori Rossi
 - Career and Technical Education Committee: Chair Darcy Bogle
 - o Curriculum and General Education Committee: Co-Chair Vicki Jacobi
 - o Distance Learning and Education Committee: Co-Chair Joy Reynolds
 - Dual Enrollment Committee: Chair Greg Golling
 - Faculty Professional Development: Chair Ruby Payne
 - Student Learning Outcomes and Assessment Steering Committee (SLOASC):
 Chair Adam Bledsoe
- Education Master Plan Team Meetings will continue meeting throughout this year.

Senator Comments

It was mentioned that some state-wide faculty are worried about the Chancellor's Office (CCCCO) interpretation of law, especially related to number of units.

C. Duron adjourned the meeting at 11:02pm.

Next Academic Senate Council: August 28, 2024

